“Pantheism, Archetype, and Deities in Ritual, Part 1” by Shauna Aura Knight

This is a wonderful description of an approach to ritual that is very close to mine. I consider that “experience of the divine” to be a particular numinous brain state that is a neurochemical phenomenon, but the point is arriving at that state. That’s what ritual is for, whatever you believe about what it is doing.

Humanistic Paganism

Note: This series is a follow-up to my essay, “I Don’t Believe in Purification”.  In this 3-part series, I offer some additional context for my approach to deity, spirituality, and ritual.

When I lead a ritual, I’m far less concerned with teaching and enforcing any given theology than I am with getting ritual participants to a place where they can commune with the divine. And, if they aren’t theistic at all, perhaps that’s more just getting people to a place where they can connect to their deep inner wisdom. I identify as a pantheist, so I’m usually going to refer to that “something” that I’m helping people connect to as the divine, as deity, as archetype, as mystery.

I see it as divine communion, but not with something external or “above.” I see it as connecting to the divine within us that always was, we just can’t stay in a constant…

View original post 1,179 more words

Leave a Reply

